Reckless driving is a serious offense in New Jersey that can carry with it heavy penalties, such as high fines and jail time. Reckless driving, is defined by New Jersey law as “A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property, shall be guilty of reckless driving.”
Essentially, reckless driving occurs when a driver intentionally operates a vehicle in an way that puts others and/or their property at risk. Common examples of reckless driving often include:
· Weaving in and out of traffic
· Tailgating another vehicle
· Speeding while tailgating
· Making illegal, sharp turns
· Not yielding to traffic or pedestrians
· Ignoring traffic signals
Penalties for reckless driving can vary depending on the circumstances and outcome of the offense. A first-time offender can face up to 60 days in jail, along with fines raging from $50 to $200. A second or multiple offender can face up to three months in jail with fines ranging from $100 to $500. Moreover, being charged with reckless driving can also lead to a tarnished driving record, accumulating as many as five points on a driving record and a higher insurance premium. Depending on the exact situation, a judge could also revoke a person’s driver’s license for reckless driving.
Reckless driving is often confused with careless driving. While similar, careless driving maintains that the behavior was not intentional and as a result could carry smaller penalties. Reckless driving is often unintentional and a result of an emergency situation, a rush or more.
If you or someone you know is facing charges for reckless driving, be it a first or repeat offense, you need a lawyer by your side who could help. Contact the John W. Tumelty today to discuss your case by calling 609.345.3300 or contacting online. With offices in Atlantic City, Somer’s Point and Marmora, there’s a convenient location for you.